In a Cayman Cookout frame of mind.

When I made the decision to leave my position with The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman, one of the things I knew I would miss most (after my RC family of L&G of course), would be planing Cayman Cookout. That event was what had given me my hospitality career to begin with  and to say that I had a deep love for all things Cookout, would be an understatement. Though rife with months of repetitive, stressful and at times, infuriating planning meetings, phone calls, spreadsheets and emails (oh dear Lord the emails), all of us involved would most definitely agree, there is no other food-centric event on earth that compares to Cayman Cookout. And we love it.

Being able to attend any of the Cayman Cookout events over those four fabulous days in January, will be something you will talk about for the rest of your life. Being a part of planning Cayman Cookout and watching the inexplicable magnitude of it unfold and seeing the realization of your months of blood, sweat & tears, as such a huge internationally known and represented event, is an honour and a privilege.

10891551_10204948128995657_5051153316134564671_n
Plate up with Chef Eric Ripert & Daniel Boulud

This year it is bittersweet for me as while I really miss being in the belly of it all and helping to make it unfold, I am beyond thrilled to be able to participate as a guest Chef and finally have my name on that page.

Yay!

 

cco2017_chefparticipation
Via CaymanCookout.com
image2
With Chef Dylan Benoit from Craft
photobox7
Bourdain with the team from Cayman Seat Salt

If I’m honest though, it is more on the sweet side as the event we will be participating in alongside Saucha – Conscious Living is one I originally helped conceptualize and saw through to great success.

Over the years, I invited many of you as Chefs, friends and colleagues & together we have created lasting memories. Thank you to all of you for what you helped us to build.

The Cayman Cookout Signature Friday afternoon lunch, Rundown with Anthony Bourdain, now re-branded as Around the World with Anthony Bourdain is one of the best value for money tickets for the entire Cayman Cookout weekend of events.

[you can purchase tickets here]

 

 

With our participation in this event in mind  we are so excited to officially launch our new Nyämaste salad for the month of January! The classic Asian flavours here were inspired by this exciting upcoming event and the Malaysian influenced flavours we went with to fit the theme.

20161230_103539
Nyamaste Around the World (January Salad of the Month)

Sesame & ginger marinated raw red cabbage, sautéed savoy cabbage, raw spiraled carrot and coconut oil blistered snap peas, rounded out with nutrient dense coconut infused barley, topped with fresh orange segments & toasted peanuts. So much goodness! Hopefully once we’ve cleared the madness of Cookout, I will be able to do a recipe post for you guys, until then, give me a call & let me bring one for you!

Hope to see you all in a couple of weeks at Cayman Cookout 2017!

Leave a Reply

