¤ Nyämaste ¤

The last week has been such a whirlwind of events, I almost don’t know where to begin.

I’ve been running with a recipe in my mind to utilize my spiralizer and my favourite fall veggies. Though I never tire of endless roasted beets and squashes, I find that my meals this time of year can get heavy and I was craving something light, vibrant & fresh.

20161128_135805
Sweet potato left over from Thanksgiving, apple, the last zucchini and a beet that I picked up on a whim … naturally I see a salad!

As I mentioned in my Gnocchi post, I really love carbs & I’m happy to live on bread, rice & pasta but the reality is, that just isn’t an option. Not only does that amount of processed wheat or wheat flour disagree with my waistline in the long-term, it also disagrees with my digestion right away, can you say bloated, uncomfortable sleep coma?

Enter sweet potato noodles and their decadent, creamy delicouness, no sauce needed! One medium sweet potato will provide well over 100% of your daily needs for vitamin A (in the form of beta-carotene), as well as 37% of vitamin C, 16% of vitamin B-6, 10% of pantothenic acid, 15% of potassium and 28% of manganese. Additionally, they are a good source of dietary fiber, niacin, vitamin E, B1, B2 and phosphorus.

 Did I mention that I loved sweet potatoes?

20161128_140958

Spiralizing your more dense veggies and roots is a great way to be able to enjoy them raw and give your body better access to all the nutrients they have to offer.

Beets are a unique source of phytonutrients called betalains, which provide antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and detoxification support. The concentration of betalains in the peel and flesh of beets gives you an unexpectedly great opportunity for these health benefits. The longer betalains are exposed to heat however, is the more damage they undertake and the less of their properties are retained. For example, one recent study has shown the difference between 15 minutes of steaming versus 25 minutes of steaming, or 60 minutes of roasting versus 90 minutes of roasting can be significant in terms of betalain damage. What does all of that mean? The closer to raw (or actually raw) that you consume your beets, is the better they are for you!

20161128_141526

I sauteed the sweet potato in a tsp of ghee, added some roasted garlic, sea salt and cracked black pepper. While most of the noodles were soft and creamy, I also let some bits get crispy and caramelized to deepen the flavour and add some texture. I dare you to try that with wheat pasta.

20161128_144216

Can you see the crispy sweet potato bits?

I threw in some pan roasted mushrooms and cranberry chick peas  and tossed a handful of baby greens in my go-to salad dressing.

20161128_144227

Add a slice of avocado topped with a few flecks of sea salt, toss a little feta on there

20161128_144350
Hello gorgeous!

As I dug into this plate of magnificence, in walks my boyfriend, the man who thinks apple pie with ice cream is healthy because, hey, it’s mostly fruit right? He is very definitively anti-beet, anti-chick peas and anti-anything that looks as if it’s better for you than it tastes. So of course, I had to make him eat it!

Three HUGE forkfuls later, I found myself carefully trying to reclaim my salad from his grasp. If he liked it, (and he REALLY liked it), then maybe I could convert other salad skeptics and help some of my friends and colleagues eat better and feel better too.

Just like that, Nyämaste was born.

Thank you to everyone who has supported us already in our launch & we are so excited to build with you. If you haven’t already, please visit the ¤ Nyämaste ¤ page and we look forward to feeding you!

 

2 thoughts on “¤ Nyämaste ¤

Leave a Reply

